Beast LFO question

Questions and Discussions about G-Stomper
User avatar
drewinnit
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:17 pm

Beast LFO question

Postby drewinnit » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:48 am

Hello

The LFO on the Drum Sampler is "free" and not retriggered by a note. You can set a slow rate and the drum sound will change itself over time.

For Beast, based on my tests and from reading the manual - to achieve "free" lfo not tied to note trigger, the sound must be set to Mono. So, an LFO used on chord can only ever be triggered by the note and never allow the "free" slow evolving sound of the Drum Sample LFO.

Can anyone think of a way around this limitation? I thought Chord Mode might provide a workaround but then I hit a dead-end exploring this option. I am open to any other suggestions....

The reason I ask is this: when I use Loop in the Beast sequencer to loop a single bar with a chord, the LFO seems to become un-tied to the note trigger and act freely (or could I just be imagining this?! :D ). So to me it feels like this option _is_ there under the surface and I just haven't been able to work out the right combination of settings to achieve it.

My end goal would be to have a chord on first bar of 8-bar loop. then set the LFOs to be 16/1 and let the sound drift so each chord sounds a bit different to the last time it played.

thanks in advance for any suggestions
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1167
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Beast LFO question

Postby planet-h » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:59 pm

drewinnit wrote:The LFO on the Drum Sampler is "free" and not retriggered by a note. You can set a slow rate and the drum sound will change itself over time.

For Beast, based on my tests and from reading the manual - to achieve "free" lfo not tied to note trigger, the sound must be set to Mono. So, an LFO used on chord can only ever be triggered by the note and never allow the "free" slow evolving sound of the Drum Sample LFO.

Sure, there's a way to achieve the same behavior on the VA-Beast Synth LFOs, it's just a setting in the synth preset ;)

All you have to do is to set the VA-Beast Preset to MONO while the LFO KB Sync is off.
More details about the LFO modes here:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/html/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer/part44.htm

And more about setting the VA-Beast preset to be monophonic here:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/html/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer/part74.htm

Guess that's exactly what you're looking for.
User avatar
drewinnit
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: Beast LFO question

Postby drewinnit » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:10 pm

thanks for your response :) i am familiar with those two sections of the manual, read them both several times before posting. still maybe I am missing a piece of info perhaps

what i want is a "free" lfo when I am playing chords. as I understand it, "free" LFO for synth only works when Mono is selected (which excludes playing chords)

it sounds like i get the desired feature of chord with free LFO when I am looping a 1-bar section with chord as part of Beast sequencer. but once Loop is disabled, the LFO goes back to being tied to note trigger
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1167
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Beast LFO question

Postby planet-h » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:03 pm

drewinnit wrote:thanks for your response :) i am familiar with those two sections of the manual, read them both several times before posting. still maybe I am missing a piece of info perhaps

what i want is a "free" lfo when I am playing chords. as I understand it, "free" LFO for synth only works when Mono is selected (which excludes playing chords)

it sounds like i get the desired feature of chord with free LFO when I am looping a 1-bar section with chord as part of Beast sequencer. but once Loop is disabled, the LFO goes back to being tied to note trigger

OK, got it.
I can look at the code if I find time, but as far as I remember, it's handled the way it is for technical reasons.

However, depending on what you want to control with the LFO, you can also use an FX that is supported by an LFO.
I know that's just a workaround, but it might give you the result you want.

Another workaround is to use the chordmem feature. You can memorize chords even if the preset is set to mono.
Also this is just a workaround, but the result could be suitable.
User avatar
drewinnit
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: Beast LFO question

Postby drewinnit » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:05 pm

that is great food for thought, thanks! will investigate those options. workarounds are totally fine by me, as long as the result is achieved, doesn't worry me how I get there ;)

will report back with results when i've had a play around

Return to “General Questions and Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest