Step Conditions for VA Beast

Suggest and discuss new features here.
User avatar
drewinnit
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:17 pm

Step Conditions for VA Beast

Postby drewinnit » Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:31 pm

Hello,

I bought the new Producer version recently and am loving the option to easily build tracks with my patterns.

I was wondering if there's a feature planned so that you can set step conditions for each VA Beast sequencer step. i think this would be really useful in both Studio and Producer versions

thanks for all the hard work!

drew
https://soundcloud.com/fevered-shiva
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1308
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Step Conditions for VA Beast

Postby planet-h » Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:55 pm

drewinnit wrote:I bought the new Producer version recently and am loving the option to easily build tracks with my patterns.

I was wondering if there's a feature planned so that you can set step conditions for each VA Beast sequencer step. i think this would be really useful in both Studio and Producer versions

Thanks a lot for buying G-Stomper Producer in early access state. That's really appreciated.

So far, it's not planned to have step conditions in the VA-Beast sequencers.
The reason is its polyphony, which makes it much more complicated to handle conditional steps.
How to handle the conditions for example? Per Step or Step and Voice? And that's just the first of a lot of unanswered questions.
If it comes to "probability", how should chords be held together. Should you, the user, handle chords by PRE conditions, or should chords generally be held together (this would mean the conditions would be per step).
Nevertheless, it's not impossible. Maybe at some point in the future, as I see the benefit of having it there as well.

Thanks for the push;)
User avatar
drewinnit
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: Step Conditions for VA Beast

Postby drewinnit » Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:29 am

thanks for your reply here, and sorry I didn't write again sooner.

I can definitely see that it's a more complex issue than the monophonic step conditions for the Sampler.

I think a condition per step would be ideal. so not accounting for polyphony, just any sequencer info on that step is played when the step conditon is triggered.

this would open up a lot of creativity and sequence variety which the Sampler currently provides, but is lacking from the Beast

not a high priority feature but would be nice to have :)
https://soundcloud.com/fevered-shiva
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1308
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Step Conditions for VA Beast

Postby planet-h » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:24 am

drewinnit wrote:I think a condition per step would be ideal. so not accounting for polyphony, just any sequencer info on that step is played when the step conditon is triggered.

this would open up a lot of creativity and sequence variety which the Sampler currently provides, but is lacking from the Beast

not a high priority feature but would be nice to have :)

I agree that a per step handling would be suitable.
I'll keep that feature request in mind as a possible upgrade.
Thanks again, drewinit.

Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest