Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Questions and Discussions about G-Stomper
ElectricRay
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:20 pm

Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby ElectricRay » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:24 am

So firstly, I love this app! Have been merrily programming patterns on my way to work each morning.

I have managed to export patterns to midi ready for import into Logic Pro. But when I import them

(a) each instrument/drum etc imports a separate channel in logic (and not an integrated single drum instrument) and

(b) when I put them on a midi drum track in logic all individual drums map as high conga!

I fully accept I am a nonce when it comes to midi (hey - I'm a guitar player) so this is probably a stupid question, but any help you could offer would be appreciated.

Merry Christmas!
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby planet-h » Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:37 am

Merry XMas to you too:)

ElectricRay wrote:So firstly, I love this app! Have been merrily programming patterns on my way to work each morning.

I have managed to export patterns to midi ready for import into Logic Pro. But when I import them

(a) each instrument/drum etc imports a separate channel in logic (and not an integrated single drum instrument) and

(b) when I put them on a midi drum track in logic all individual drums map as high conga!

I fully accept I am a nonce when it comes to midi (hey - I'm a guitar player) so this is probably a stupid question, but any help you could offer would be appreciated.

Merry Christmas!


Regarding a):
Not 100% correct.
It exports the following:
- 1 MIDI Track for all Drum Sampler Tracks together (NON-Tonal, named T01-Txx, it's the very first track in the midi export file)
- N separate MIDI Tracks for each Drum Sampler Track (Tonal, named Txx, these are required, if you have tonal sequences in your drum tracks)
- N separate MIDI Tracks for each VA-Beast Track (Tonal, named VTxx)
That way you get every form you need. You just have to pick the tracks you want to use (in your midi sequencer, in your case Logic) and delete the other ones.
More details at: http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_Midi.htm#_Toc433871828

Regarding b)
The MIDI export does only export the sequence, not any sound mappings.
You must see, that in G-Stomper each track can be everything, a drum, a vocal, a synth sample or whatever. The application has no information, if this is percussive or any other sound.
ElectricRay
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby ElectricRay » Fri Dec 25, 2015 10:53 am

Wow! Brilliant! Thanks!
ElectricRay
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby ElectricRay » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:00 pm

Hi there - so I found the composite track. I had to reassign instruments a little bit inside logic though - this may have been because I had mucked around with the drum patterns. This is quite fiddly.

Is there a way I can configure a pattern so I know that the kick drum I choose in g-stomper will always translate to a kick drum in my DAW sequencer?

Thanks as always for your help.
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby planet-h » Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:24 am

ElectricRay wrote:Hi there - so I found the composite track. I had to reassign instruments a little bit inside logic though - this may have been because I had mucked around with the drum patterns. This is quite fiddly.

Is there a way I can configure a pattern so I know that the kick drum I choose in g-stomper will always translate to a kick drum in my DAW sequencer?

Thanks as always for your help.


Yes, you can do that with some MIDI configuration.
At the end it depends on what drum module you're using in your MIDI capable sequencer software (where you load the MIDI file).

If it just uses the General MIDI drum module, then you should map MIDI Channel 10 to the global MIDI channel in G-Stomper Studio.
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_Midi.htm#_Toc433871816

Then you must edit the "Global Key Mappings" in G-Stomper Studio, so that they match with the mapped Notes in your MIDI sequencer.
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_Midi.htm#_Toc433871819

Also see here for the GM Drum mappings:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_MIDI#/media/File:GM_Standard_Drum_Map_on_the_keyboard.svg

If you use custom drum module, you just have to match mapped midi notes of this drum module instead.

But keep in mind, as soon as you do this, you must ensure that the Kickdrum (for example) is always on the same Track in G-Stomper.
Theoretically it might be on every track, there's no rule where it has to be (even if it makes sense to have it on T01).
At the end, you're mapping a Track (T01 for example) to a MIDI note, not the loaded sample (the sample can be everything).
ElectricRay
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby ElectricRay » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:09 am

Again, thanks very much for your prompt and informative response. Brilliant.
Kenedy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:26 am

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby Kenedy » Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:29 am

Its excellent app and I really love it
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Exporting patterns to midi - dumb questions

Postby planet-h » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:24 am

Kenedy wrote:Its excellent app and I really love it


Thank you, Kenedy

Return to “General Questions and Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests