< Previous | Contents | Next >

15.5 Pattern Lock Mode

The Pattern Lock Mode is used to prevent Patterns in the Pattern Set from being permanently changed during live sessions.


In live situations it’s often the case that you want to make real-time changes to particular Patterns. By default (without Pattern Lock), all these changes are directly applied to the actual Pattern in the Pattern set. This is surely the appropriate behavior when you build or edit Patterns, but in a live situation you probably just want to tweak the sounds without permanently changing the actual Patterns. Pattern Lock covers exactly this situation.


image


If "Lock" is enabled, you can make changes to the currently running Pattern without affecting the actual Pattern in the underlying Pattern Set. As soon as you select a different Pattern Slot or if you switch off the "Lock", all changes you made will be discarded. This is very useful if you want to jam live across multiple Patterns, but want to keep the underlying Pattern Set intact.


Note:

If you come to a situation want to keep a changed Pattern while "Lock" is enabled, just save it as a new Pattern (Main Menu / SAVE / Pattern). The same applies to Sound Sets and VA-Beast presets.


Please also note that the "Lock" will be automatically deactivated, if you load, import, copy, swap or clear Patterns, if you copy, swap or clear Pattern Contents, if you load, import or clear a Pattern Set, or if you export a song or multiple patterns as Audio or MIDI.


 Get this Doc as PDF