The third oscillator or sub oscillator

Suggest and discuss new features here.
vanjub
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:52 pm

The third oscillator or sub oscillator

Postby vanjub » Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:12 pm

Will there be added in the future third oscillator or sub oscillator (square)? Or you can somehow play a few timbres, patches simultaneously on the keyboard? Another good idea was to be able to flip through to flip the synthesizer with your finger not just on the right. And that the effects panel had a keyboard to immediately play and effects to adjust. Also white noise can be made a separate option without casting a voice oscillator.
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: The third oscillator or sub oscillator

Postby planet-h » Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:12 am

Welcome to the forum, vanjub.

vanjub wrote:Will there be added in the future third oscillator or sub oscillator (square)? Or you can somehow play a few timbres, patches simultaneously on the keyboard? Another good idea was to be able to flip through to flip the synthesizer with your finger not just on the right. And that the effects panel had a keyboard to immediately play and effects to adjust. Also white noise can be made a separate option without casting a voice oscillator.

Regarding the sub osc:
Have you tried the Chord Memory feature?
That let's you map multiple tones to a single key.
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer.htm#_Toc483924678
See chaptern : 8.2.17.2 Chord Memory with KB Hold (the one in the ChordMem section)
That way to can create a chord with key 0, -12 for example, which means each key plays its normal note + one more at one octave below.

Regarding the Effects panel:
The main FX chain (FX edit) has the track pads at the bottom.
The most right button can be switched to "play" mode.
In play mode you don't have a complete keyboard, but you can play a single sound from the synth.
To make the VT01-12 visible use the scroll (>>) button.
But that's only in the main FX chain.
I agree that it would be helpful in the insert effects, too.

Regarding the white noise:
The VA-Beast actually has an extra white noise osc aboard.
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer.htm#_Toc483924668
If enabled, then the audible signal of osc 2 is replaced by white noise.
The main Osc 2 signal is still active and can be used as modulation source in the OSC MOD section.

Please let me know if that covers your needs.
Thanks
vanjub
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:52 pm

Re: The third oscillator or sub oscillator

Postby vanjub » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Thanks for the help. Using chords is the first thing that came to mind. But for example, if you take a patch from system-1 by name BS Dominator (hoover) there use 2 oscillator saws and the sub oscillator is a square. Although if try to take a chord 2 saws...
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: The third oscillator or sub oscillator

Postby planet-h » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:53 pm

vanjub wrote:Thanks for the help. Using chords is the first thing that came to mind. But for example, if you take a patch from system-1 by name BS Dominator (hoover) there use 2 oscillator saws and the sub oscillator is a square. Although if try to take a chord 2 saws...


I know what you mean, and yes, I agree that either a third OSC or even a sub OSC per oscillator would be a very nice addition.
One thing you can do, even though this is still not exactly what your'e looking for, but it might still help.

Try using the dual sine waveform on OSC 2.
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer.htm#_Toc483924665
I know it's both sine waves, but at least you can tune each sine separately in OSC 2.

In any way, OSC upgrade goes to the list of new features to take a closer look to.
Thanks again for the suggestion.

Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests