G-Stomper Rhythm as midi controller in Ableton?

Questions and Discussions about G-Stomper
orenmi
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:58 pm

G-Stomper Rhythm as midi controller in Ableton?

Postby orenmi » Mon Jan 25, 2021 7:03 pm

Hi,
I couldn't find instructions on how to do that. (If its possible)
I am using G-Stomper Rhythm on Samsung tab S2.
I would like to use it as a step sequencer for a drum set in Ableton live.
Is it possible?
Do I need another piece of hardware to connect the two? or just a USB cable from the tablet to the PC is enough? (or Bluetooth)
Thanks!
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1471
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: G-Stomper Rhythm as midi controller in Ableton?

Postby planet-h » Tue Jan 26, 2021 6:15 pm

Welcome to the forum, orenmi
orenmi wrote:I couldn't find instructions on how to do that. (If its possible)

Here you go:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... _Midi.html

orenmi wrote:I am using G-Stomper Rhythm on Samsung tab S2.
I would like to use it as a step sequencer for a drum set in Ableton live.
Is it possible?

Yes. If you do use the G-Stomper Rhythm Sequencer, then you do not even need MIDI.
In that case you can just sync your Android device with your Ableton application using Ableton Link.

All about Ableton Link here:
https://www.planet-h.com/documentation/ableton-link/

Related doc chapter here:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... nLink.html

orenmi wrote:Do I need another piece of hardware to connect the two? or just a USB cable from the tablet to the PC is enough? (or Bluetooth)

For MIDI connection with your PC, an USB cable will be enough.
Here is the related chapter (walk-through) in the docs:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part15.htm
orenmi
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:58 pm

Re: G-Stomper Rhythm as midi controller in Ableton?

Postby orenmi » Tue Jan 26, 2021 7:26 pm

Thank you for the instructions!
I made some progress. Apparently I don't have an appropriate cable for the tablet so I tried it on my phone.
Now after connecting I see that the phone is setup as midi and G stomper is prompting for a new midi device.
In Ableton live, I can see the midi port in the setting, the name is "Midi function".
Now I think I also need to set it in the top list as a "Control Surface" for it to work.
But, this new midi device does not appear in the control surface drop down list.
So in Ableton , there are no midi commands when I click in G stomper.
Can you please help with the next step?

Thanks again for an amazing app :!:
Attachments
20210126_211638.jpg
20210126_211638.jpg (165.28 KiB) Viewed 810 times
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 1471
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: G-Stomper Rhythm as midi controller in Ableton?

Postby planet-h » Wed Jan 27, 2021 2:26 pm

By default, G-Stomper does not send out any MIDI events for performance reasons.
For sending out MIDI events from the G-Stomper app, be sure to look at:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part33.htm
(you must map a MIDI out port and a proper MIDI channel in order to send MIDI events out)

MIDI Setup:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part30.htm

MIDI Channels Setup:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part45.htm

MIDI Key and CC Mappings:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part51.htm

Default MIDI Mapping Charts:
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... part57.htm

Please have a look at the G-Stomper docs for further information on how to setup and use MIDI in the G-Stomper apps.
https://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/ ... _Midi.html

To be honest, I don't use Ableton Live, and I don't know what you want to control, nor do I know how Ableton Live works.
And based on that fact, I cannot help you with the Ableton Live part.

For all questions around Ableton Live, please contact the Ableton Support.
https://www.ableton.com/

Return to “General Questions and Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests