User Sample Pitch Note

Questions and Discussions about G-Stomper
whatnot
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:05 am

User Sample Pitch Note

Postby whatnot » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:15 am

Hi guys, when I load a sample to the Drum Machine trigger button it is automatically assigned to C4 even though the sample can be of any other note. Is there a way to make the trigger LEARN the correct tonic note.
Sorry if I missed it in the manual.
Thanks a lot!
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby planet-h » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:26 pm

Welcome to the forum, whatnot.

whatnot wrote:Hi guys, when I load a sample to the Drum Machine trigger button it is automatically assigned to C4 even though the sample can be of any other note. Is there a way to make the trigger LEARN the correct tonic note.
Sorry if I missed it in the manual.
Thanks a lot!


If you're using G-Stomper Rhythm or G-Stomper Studio:
Press NOTE EDIT on the main screen, then select the note you want to have as default for the trigger.

If you're using G-Stomper Studio and want to play the sample in different notes on each step:
Press VIEW in the toolbar on top, then select 'Sampler Note Grid' from the menu. Once there, touch the grid to select the notes you want to play.
whatnot
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:05 am

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby whatnot » Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:16 pm

Thanks a lot for the reply !
I think I got it: in the NOTE EDIT I selected the default note for the track BEFORE loading the sample - and it worked, the E4 bass sample stuck to E4 in NOTE EDIT.
thanks again!
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby planet-h » Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:14 am

whatnot wrote:Thanks a lot for the reply !
I think I got it: in the NOTE EDIT I selected the default note for the track BEFORE loading the sample - and it worked, the E4 bass sample stuck to E4 in NOTE EDIT.
thanks again!


At the end it all depends on the sample itself.
If you select E4 in NOTE EDIT mode, then the loaded sample is just played 4 semi-tones higher than it's actually sampled.
If the sample is sampled ad C4, then it plays at E4 in that case.
But if the sample is already sampled at E4, then it's played at G#4 (if you select E4 in NOTE EDIT mode).

To play a sample (that is sampled to something else than C4) in the right tonal frequency, you have to change its root note, something you cannot do in the drum sampler.

But you can do that in the VA-Beast synth's PCM module (see root key).
http://www.planet-h.com/gstomper/docs/G-Stomper_UserManual_VaBeastSynthesizer.htm#_Toc483924664
whatnot
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:05 am

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby whatnot » Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:10 am

Well,strange enough but the Drum Machine seems to be smarter than you describe)))
E.g.: my sample is E4
1. Enter Note Edit of T1
2. Select E4
3. Long press T1
4. Load the sample
5. Open Note Edit
E4 sample sits on E4
That's what I needed!)
If I load the sample without previously setting the default note - all samples will just sit on C4.
whatnot
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:05 am

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby whatnot » Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:15 am

Checked again. You are right
Please disregard the previous
User avatar
planet-h
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

Re: User Sample Pitch Note

Postby planet-h » Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:28 am

whatnot wrote:Checked again. You are right
Please disregard the previous


OK;) thanks for clearing it up.
It would've been very surprising.

However, as said, you can achieve exactly what you're looking for with the VA-Beast's PCM sampler module.

Return to “General Questions and Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests